December 14, 2012

All Ireland U16 Football Team Finalists 1978All Ireland U16 Football Finalists 1978, Vocational School Newcastlewest
Mickey Lane, Donacha Dowling, Conor Roche, Denis Roche, Mike Flynn, Oliver Flanagan, Paul McMahon, Ben Curtin, Tom Keane.
David Doherty, Liam Shine, Billy Sexton, John Quaid, Paudie Power, Vincent Mc Carthy, Gerry Collum.

Desmond College remembered its All Ireland U 16 Football Finalists of 1978, at a specially organised night in the College on Friday 30th November.

Retired staff of the Vocational School, CEO of Co Limerick VEC Sean Burke, Chairperson of the All Ireland Post Primary Body Jerome Conway, Servicing Officer of Co Limerick Post Primary Schools GAA Jerry Bennis along with Principal Vourneen Gavin Barry and a number of present day staff, all celebrated and remembered the achievements of the 1978 team who lived every child’s dream and played in Croke Park.

VEC GAA all Ireland U16 Football Finalists 1978
Mr Sean Burke CEO Co. Limerick VEC, Mr Jerry Bennis Servicing Officer of Co. Limerick Post Primary GAA,
Mr Richard Barry retired Principal Vocational School and Desmond College & Mr Jerome Conway Chairman of the All Ireland Post Primary Body at a reunion in Desmond College of the U16 All Ireland Football Finalists 1978.

The majority of the Team were present on the night, with one member travelling from London to be at the reunion. Mr Jerome Conway commended the Team who achieved such huge success in a time when competitions were open and grading did not take place.

All Team members were presented with a photograph of the U16 Team and an engraved crystal bowl as a special memento. Presentations were made by Mike Nash, former Principal Richard Barry, and Jim Kelliher who trained the team with former Principal Martin McNamara (now deceased).

Picking the Team
Retired teachers Jim Kelliher and Pat O’Connor